A guide to using the Borg Scale of Perceived Exertion 

Samuel Peters
Author: Sam Peters, FRP, Rehabilitation and Training Operations Manager

The Borg Scale of Perceived Exertion is a tool designed to measure how hard you are working whilst exercising. Perceived exertion is a measure of how intense you find an activity whilst considering things such as your heart rate, breathing rate, perspiration rate and levels of muscle fatigue.  

Although measuring your exertion this way is subjective based on your own experiences, using the Borg Scale will allow you to keep objective measurements against certain activities and compare them as your fitness levels improve or time passes. 

How Borg Scale of Perceived Exertion Works?

The Borg Scale uses a 14 point scale starting at 6 (no exertion at all) and finishing at 20 (maximal exertion). It is generally agreed that ratings between 12 to 14, would indicate the activity you are performing is being done at a ‘moderate level’ of intensity.  

The Borg Scale of Perceived Exertion 
Rating  Intensity Level 
6  No Exertion 
7  Extremely Light 
9  Very Light 
11  Light 
13  Somewhat Hard 
15  Hard 
17  Very Hard 
19  Extremely Hard 
20  Maximum Exertion 


Through monitoring your perceived exertion over time, you’ll find it’ll become easier to adjust your exercise to stay within a certain range of intensity levels. Also, the more you use the scale the more reliable your ratings will become. This means that you’ll get the most out of the activities you’re performing by not working too hard or too easily! 

It is important to take care when exercising, so if you find that your intensity level is too high or you have any form of chest pain, dizziness or extreme fatigue, to contact your GP immediately. 


Related News

Gender Pay Gap report 2024

Vita Health Group wins ‘Best Company to Work For’ at the Business Awards UK Health and Wellbeing Awards

Tips to help you save money this Christmas

Vita is an award-winning, CQC registered healthcare provider